The Civil Service Commission, which is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State, consists of three members, one of whom serves as Chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of 10 years, and each has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of approximately 580 persons working under its direction and located in the headquarters office at Ottawa and in district offices at St. John's, N'f'ld., Halifax, N.S., Saint John, N.B., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver, B.C.

The Department of Defence Production.—The Department of Defence Production was established on Apr. 1, 1951, under the provisions of the Defence Production Act. Under this Act the Minister is given, with certain exceptions, exclusive authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that theretofore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required, on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence supporting industries, particularly of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. The main units of the Department are: the Ammunition Branch, the Aircraft Branch, the Electronics Branch, the General Purchasing Branch, the Guns Branch, the Machine Tools Branch, and the Shipbuilding Branch. In addition, there are various administrative or service units including Administration, Comptroller's, Economics and Statistics, Industrial Security, Legal, Secretary's, and the Financial Adviser's Branches.

The following Crown companies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, and Polymer Corporation Limited.

**Dominion Bureau of Statistics.**—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (8-9 Geo. V, c. 43). In 1948, this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 257); it was amended by 1-2 Eliz. II, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada at ten-year intervals.

The Bureau is the principal publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of the reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The Bureau reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

The Department of External Affairs.—The main function of this Department is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The head of the Department of External Affairs is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department is the Under-Secretary (Deputy Minister), who is the chief adviser to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. He is assisted by an Associate Under-Secretary and by three Assistant Under-Secretaries and a Legal Adviser, and is advised by officers in charge of the various divisions, each responsible for a part of the work of the Department. The divisional heads are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, Administrative Officers and by the administrative staff of clerks, stenographers and typists. While serving abroad, Foreign Service Officers are formally designated as Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First, Second and Third Secretaries at diplomatic posts and as Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. Fifty-two diplomatic and consular posts are maintained abroad by Canada.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 17 divisions which can be grouped, according to their functions, into three categories—political, functional and administrative. There are five political divisions—American, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern and United Nations; eight functional divisions—Consular, Defence Liaison (1) and (2), Economic, Information, Legal, Historical Research and Reports, and Protocol; and four administrative divisions—Establishments and Organization, Finance, Personnel, Supplies and Properties.